User roles and permissions in Bonsai

Everything you need to know about working with your team in Bonsai

Updated over a week ago

There are 4 user roles in Bonsai:

  • The Owner is the person who created the company account. They have full access to everything on the account. Companies can only have one Owner.

  • Partners help the Owner manage the company. They have full access to everything on the account, except for banking.

  • Project Managers have access to clients, projects, tasks, resourcing and time tracking. They can manage which team members are on which project. They do not have access to any revenue/financial data.

  • Collaborators work on individual projects within the company. They can track time and add tasks on the projects they were invited to, but do not have access to client details, revenue/financial data, or company documents such as proposals, contracts, and invoices.

Adding and removing team members

You can add and remove team members through the Team page in your company settings.

When you add a new team member, they receive an email inviting them to join your company in Bonsai. They must accept this invitation in order to join your team.

Adding team members costs $10/month per member, or $100/year with yearly billing. Your subscription is automatically updated when a new member is invited.


Owner

The Owner is the person who created the company account. They have full access to everything on the account. Companies can only have one Owner.


Partners

Partners help the Owner manage the company. They have full access to everything on the account, except for banking.

✅ Partners can:

  • Have full access to everything on the account, except for what's listed below

❌ Partners cannot:

  • Access Banking (US users only)

  • Delete the company account


Project Managers

Project Managers help with project management. They have full access to clients, projects, tasks, time tracking, and forms, but they do not have access to any revenue/financial data.

(Revenue/financial data includes amounts billed to clients; billed/unbilled amounts and hourly rate (time tracking); documents such as proposals, contracts, and invoices; expenses.)

✅ Project Managers can:

  • View, Create, Edit, Archive Clients (excluding revenue/financial data)

  • View, Create, Edit, Archive, Delete Projects (excluding revenue/financial data)

  • Invite existing Team Members to Projects

  • View, Create, Edit, Archive, Delete Tasks

  • Access Resourcing and see team members' capacity

  • View, Create, Edit, Delete Time Entries (excluding revenue/financial data)

  • View Timesheets

  • View Forms

  • View, Edit their Profile Settings

  • Edit Client Data and Customer Fields

  • Edit Notifications & Alerts Settings

  • Edit Two-Factor Authentication Settings

❌ Project Managers cannot:

  • Import Clients via CSV

  • View the Client Portal and Client Settings tabs

  • Preview Project as Client/Collaborator

  • Use Automations

  • View Time Tracking Insights

  • View the Utilization Report

  • View Invoices

  • View Proposals

  • View Contracts

  • View Services

  • View Scheduling

  • View Banking

  • View Bookkeeping

  • View Company Settings

  • View Default Client Messages Settings

  • View Client Portal Settings

  • View Client Mode Settings

  • View Brand Settings

  • View Subscription Settings

  • View Team Management

  • View Integrations & Data


Collaborators

Collaborators work on individual projects within the company. They can track time and add tasks on the projects they were invited to, but do not have access to client details, revenue/financial data, or company documents such as proposals, contracts, and invoices.

✅ Collaborators can:

  • View Projects they are assigned to (only Tasks, Team, and their own Time Entries)

  • View, Create, Edit, Archive, Delete Tasks (only from Projects they are assigned to)

  • View, Create, Edit, Delete Time Entries (only their own time entries, without the billable or cost rates)

  • View Timesheets (only their own timesheet, without the capacity utilization column)

  • View, Edit their Profile Settings

  • Edit Notifications & Alerts Settings

  • Edit Two-Factor Authentication Settings

❌ Collaborators cannot:

  • Edit, Archive, Delete Projects

  • View Projects they are not assigned to

  • View Billable or Cost Rates for Time Entries

  • View Capacity Utilization on Timesheets

  • View Time Tracking Insights

  • View the Utilization Report

  • View Clients

  • View Invoices

  • View Proposals

  • View Contracts

  • View Services

  • View Scheduling

  • View Banking

  • View Bookkeeping

  • View Company Settings

  • View Default Client Messages Settings

  • View Client Portal Settings

  • View Client Mode Settings

  • View Brand Settings

  • View Subscription Settings

  • View Team Management

  • View Integrations & Data


If you have any additional questions about user roles and permissions in Bonsai, please contact our support team and we will be happy to help.

Did this answer your question?